Now Instagram also shows whether your friends are online

Finally, Instagram adds a feature that lets you see whether your friends are online or not. After WhatsApp, Facebook and other rivals messaging apps, Instagram users were eagerly waiting for this. Initially started as a media sharing social platform, Instagram users share a ton of messages with each other.

Showing off and sharing updates with your friends/followers in ways of selfies etc is very common among the youth of today. Due to this, Instagram users are more active than other social networking users. This leads to heavy messaging between them via app too. According to Instagram’s CEO, this move is first of many upcoming features focused on fighting tech addiction of its users.

With this feature, not only you can see which of your friends are online, you can also see how much time they spent on this platform. When online, you will have a little green dot next to your name which will be present everywhere your name shows up in your friends feed, inbox etc. However, only those people who are following each other or have conversed with each other will be able to see each other’s online status.

Instagram Online Status

With the help of this feature, now you can have a real-time conversation knowing whether they are online or not. Earlier, people just used to DM on Instagram much like an email waiting for a reply. With the introduction of this, now it will be interesting to see the competition that this media sharing platform will give popular messaging apps such as Facebook, Whatsapp etc


How to disable Instagram online status

One last thing, this sounds creepy to those who are very protective of their privacy. Not to worry, you can entirely turn off this feature by going into the main settings of the app and disabling the “activity status”. Though, keep in mind that this is a two-way lane, once you disable your activity status, you won’t be able to view the same for others as well.

image credits – droid-life

Get these updates via email for $0 (Limited time)

We will never share your details with anyone.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.

Newsletter, everyday!

We can send an email update every morning at no extra cost.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.